events mini banner


hat toss 2018

The Saugeen District Secondary School class of 2018 was celebrated during their convocation October 5.

Hub Staff

The Saugeen District Secondary School (SDSS) class of 2018 was celebrated during the October 5 convocation, where former classmates donned their caps and gowns and walked the stage to receive their diplomas. The class of 2018 saw nearly 100 students graduate with many winning awards and bursaries.

Prior to the ceremony, which saw musical accompaniment by the SDSS Senior Band, graduates greeted each other in the gymnasium and took part in the ceremonial cap toss.

Class voted Valedictorian Kent Ribey, who returned to SDSS to complete a 2-12 year, said that he had been sitting in a tractor for the last three months trying to come up with his address. Ribey, who would like to attend the University of Guelph for their agriculture business program, said the speech has been running through his head for a while and thought it was “pretty cool” that his classmates voted for him through a multi-vote process, adding “it’s their opinion so that’s the most important one."

Ribey said the message of his speech tells students to be their own person. “Not everyone's going to go off on their own path and you should be yourself," he said. "You can’t aim too low at this point because you have your whole life ahead of you.”

Of the 98 graduates, 54 were Ontario Scholars, attaining an average of 80% or higher in their six best Grade 12 courses.


The Anglican Parish of Saugeen Shores Bursaries
- St. John's Bursary: Rachel Kelly
- St. Paul's Bursary: Victoria Matheson

Giovanna Bargetti Awards: Ziibi Cameron and Marissa Kahgee

Beta Sigma Phi-Iota Phi Sorority Bursary: Hallie Acton

Bruce & Grey County Federation of Agriculture Award
- In honour and remembrance of Mr Ernie Young: Spencer Davey

Bruce County Conservationists Award: Tommy Tiisler

Bruce County District Women's Institute Scholarship: Kendra Klages

Bruce Power Leadership Award: Jack Flarity

Bruce Power Award
- Female Pursuing a Skilled Trade: Bryanna Cowan

Bruce Power Future Innovator Award: Carsyn Cassidy

Bumper to Bumper Award: Ryan Mahoney

CIBC Business Bursary: Sarita Ahmed

Canadian Federation of University Women Southport Scholarships: Arcadia Kagige, Sarah Mekky and Ashley Stroud

Betty Colborne Memorial Scholarship: Kelly Robertson

Chantry Island Chambettes Community Service Award: Candace Mowbray

Chartwells School Dining Bursaries: Hayley Swigger and Taylor Ferguson

The W. J. Coulter Award: Emma Vanhaelemeesch

Anne Marie Feddema Memorial Bursary: Connor Hagen

Dr and Mrs J. E. Fraser Memorial Scholarship - Rahmi Shabnam

The Grant Helm Scholarship: Brooke Thorne

Ideal Supply UAP Napa Award: J.D. Barnard

Eric Hilbig Senior Science Award: Matthew Lemcke

Carmen Howe Memorial Award: Brooke Thorne

Michael Humphrey Memorial Award: Austin de Roos

The Elizabeth Kelly Memorial Awards: Jack Flarity and Melissa Bruce

Knights of Columbus Recognition Awards: Mikayla Ball-Valiquette and Stephanie Gomes

Christopher Knott Memorial Award: Trevor Donaldson

Edythe Lamont Memorial Award: Madison Rettinger

Carm Levie Sr History Award: Fiona Miller

Lifetouch Photography Award: Arcadia Kagige

Kevin McArthur Memorial Curling Bursaries: Carsyn Cassidy and Jack Middleton

The McLellan Bursary: Hailey Astle

The Janet McNally First Nation Education Award - Jackson Weber

Meridian Credit Union Bursary
- Port Elgin Branch Scholarship: Abygale Young

Ontario Power Generation Achievement Awards: Ken Bingham and Ainsley Harron

Order of the Eastern Star Awards: Blake Hewitt and Elspeth Irwin

Performing Arts of Saugeen Shores Award: Fiona Miller

The Port Elgin Lions Club Awards: Stephanie Gomes and Ashley Schlorff

The Port Elgin Masonic Lodge Bursaries: Austin de Roos and Victoria Matheson

The Port Elgin Pharmasave Life Science Bursary: Abygale Young

The Port Elgin Royal Canadian Legion Awards
- Math: Arif Azmi
- Science: Matthew Lemcke

The Port Elgin United Church Bursary: Krissandra Sturgeon

The Ross Preston Memorial Award for Economics: Tara Gaunt

The Bruce Power - Professional Engineers of Ontario (Georgian Bay Chapter): Matthew Lemcke

The Retired Teachers of Ontario Community Service Award & Lieutenant Governor Community Volunteer Award Pin: Jack Middleton

The Rotary Club of Port Elgin Service Above Self Bursaries: Cassidy Kazimer and Matthew Lemcke

Saugeen District Secondary School Administrator Award: Claudia Robinson

The Saugeen Memorial Hospital
- Auxiliary Bursary: Ashley Schlorff
- William Rankin Memorial Bursary: Chloe Swarbrick

The Saugeen Shores Police Services and Association Bursaries: Eric Sedore and Rachel Kelly

Southport Horticultural Society Scholarship: Tommy Tiisler

Saugeen Shores United Football Club "Volunteerism in Sport" Bursary: Jack Flarity

Shoppers Drug Mart Health Sciences Bursary: Carsyn Cassidy

Southampton Rotary Scholarships: Hallie Acton and Eric Sedore

The Howard Stoddard Memorial Award: Hailey Astle

The West Wawanosh Mutual Insurance Bursary: Chloe Swarbrick

Governor General's Academic Medal: Ari Azmi

Valedictory Address (introduced by Rahmi Shabnam): Kent Ribey


Royal the SDSS mascot was eager for the graduation ceremony to begin.

grad 1

SDSS graduates, from left, Hayley Swigger, Madison Rettinger, Kendra Klages, Tess Bainborough, Madison Misch.

grad 2

From left, graduates Vickie Vance, Andrew Malcolm, Brooke Thorne, Caleb Mills and Spencer Davey.

grad 3

From left, Cam McEwen, Valedictorian Kent Ribey and Trevor Donaldson.

sdss senior band

The SDSS Senior Band laid the soundtrack for the Grade 12 graduation ceremony October 5.