Planning for the second of three phases of Lamont Sports Park is now underway, and Saugeen Shores Council formally approved a campaign team to lead the efforts.

In a January 27 media release, the team includes community volunteers, two members of Council and Town staff.

The Lamont Sports Park Fundraising Committee will be co-chaired by Saugeen Shores Vice Deputy Mayor Mike Myatt, and community volunteer Robert Stanley.

“We are fortunate to have such a supportive group of community-minded volunteers who have stepped up to the plate to assist with this fundraising campaign,” said Myatt. “We have representatives on the committee from Minor Baseball, Minor Fastball, Men’s and Ladies Slo Pitch, Men’s Fastball, and a broad range of volunteer expertise.”

Saugeen Shores Mayor Luke Charbonneau is also pleased with progress being made at Lamont Sports Park. “Phase 1, including funding for four new lighted ball diamonds, is now complete and efforts are underway to raise the funds required to advance Phase 2," said Charbonneau. "I am confident our fundraising team will achieve their $1 million goal, allowing the Town to build two additional playing fields to accommodate minor baseball and minor fastpitch at the park.”

Phase 1 of Lamont Sports Park will open in the spring 2023. A fully accessible playground will also be constructed in 2022. Phase 2 is scheduled to be completed in 2023 or 2024 pending success of the fundraising campaign, the release said.

The amenities for Phase 3 of the park will be determined in future years and will include community consultation.

The Lamont Sports Park Campaign Team consists of Mike Myatt, Vice Deputy Mayor, and Committee Co-chair; Robert Stanley, Committee Co-chair and Community Representative; Barry Dunlop (Former Minor Ball President/Community Volunteer); Rob Fawcett (Former fastball pitcher/Community Volunteer); Lynsie Little (Ladies Fastball Rep); Nicole Marsh (Ladies Slo Pitch Rep); Michael Martin (Retired Crown Attorney/Community Volunteer); Jeff Myatt (Minor Baseball Rep); Rob Stanley (Retired Bruce Power Communications/Community Volunteer); Greg Thede (Men’s Fastball Rep); Connor Yourth (Men’s Slo Pitch Rep); John Divinski, Southampton Ward Councillor; Janice Stubbs, Town of Saugeen Shores staff representative; Daniel Waechter, Town of Saugeen Shores staff representative.