sdss celebrates graduates

Saugeen District Senior School welcomed Grade 8 students to school grounds for a drive-by graduation ceremony June 23. Photo supplied

Hub Staff

Saugeen District Senior School celebrated their Grade 8 graduates with a drive-by ceremony June 23.

Approved by Public Health, graduates arrived in separate cars with each class queueing up at a pre-assigned time. With the help of staff members, one by one students received their diplomas and, if they so wished, paused for a photo opportunity.

SDSS Grade 8 Graduation Award winners were as follows:

Bruce Power Science and Technology Award - Alexandra Cipolletti-Dyke and Emann Bilal
Bruce Township Kenzie Foster Scholarship - Gillian Clarke
Canadian Parents for French Award - Kenzie Bourassa
Community Living Inspiring Possibilities Award - April Virtue
CUPE Citizenship Award - Kate Yeaman
Eby's Barbershop Literacy Award - Madisyn Boissoin-Raven
Geography Award - Scarlett LaBlance
Gord Pro Shop & Imprint Royal Athlete of the Year Award - Courtney Cuillerier and Jack Kruiderink
Grade 8 French Award - Kathryn McLaren
J.G. Walker Award for Science - Jaskaran Walia
Joan Tooke Performing Arts Scholarship - Cole Bonathan
Knights of Columbus Citizenship/Leadership Award - Blake Lamont
Lakeshore Physical and Health Education Award - Luna Abbott and Jacob Drummond
M&M Food Market Academic Excellence Award - Ava Cameron
Michael Humphrey Math Award - Ava Cameron
Mowbray Family History Award - Tyler Little
Mowbray Family English Award - Madeleine Steele
OPC Leadership Award - Brando Boone
Nigel West-Gaul Memorial Citizenship Award - Olivia Hyndman
Port Elgin Lions Citizenship Award - Madisyn Boisson-Raven
Port Elgin Rotary Service Above Self Award - Luna Abbott and Brando Boone
Royal Canadian Legion Most Improved Student Award - Brooklyn Banks
Royal Canadian Legion Mathematics Award Jaskarin Walia
Royal Math Award - Seth Gallop
Royals Instrumental Music Award - Isabella Hobson
Royals Music Award - Chloe Lachance
Saugeen Shores Chamber of Commerce Citizenship Award - Kate Gilbert
Saugeen Shores Fire Fighter's Association Citizenship Award - Myles Jelly
TA Brown Award of Academic Excellence - Emann Bilal
TA Brown Valedictorian Award - Brando Boone

Photos and images supplied.

drive through

Maddie Steele received her diploma from teacher Liz Sollors June 23.


Grade 8 graduate Emaan Bilal posed for a photo op during SDSS's Grade 8 drive by graduation ceremony June 23.

Whyte Froese

Deacon Froese with teacher Kristy Whyte June 23 at SDSS.


Graduate William Shular took advantage of the opportunity to pose for a photo op June 23 at SDSS.


Graduate Luna Abbott paused for a photo op after receiving her diploma June 23.

staff grad

Staff at SDSS welcomed students to their drive by graduation ceremony June 23.

SDSS Grade 8 award winners 2021 full

SDSS Grade 8 Award winners. Click for larger view.