SSVotes hub



Co-Valedictorians Jaydn Chin (left) and Aurora Jacobi during their valedictorian address at École Port Elgin Saugeen Central School’s Grade 8 graduation June 26.

Hub Staff

École Port Elgin Saugeen Central School held its Grade 8 graduation in style June 26. Representing the graduation class, Aurora Jacobi and Jaydn Chin, both of whom showed poise and comedic talents in their co-valedictorian address, followed the night’s award ceremony and presentation of diplomas.

Both Jacobi and Chin touched on memories of their experiences, trends where they paused to take a “selfie”, and expressed thanks to “emotional” parents, classmates and teachers for their years of support.

“Looking forward it’s hard to imagine what our future holds, it will be different for all of us, but hopefully we can all remember where we came from and who has helped us along our journey,” said Jacobi.

Chin set up the “quote of the year” from playwright George Bernard Shaw, “Life isn’t about finding yourself,” recited Chin, “Life is about creating yourself.”

Awards were as follows:
The T.A. Brown Award of Academic Excellence - Caelan MacDonald
The Kenzie Foster Scholarship - Blain Ribe
Michael Humphrey Math Award - Joshua Rye
J. G. Walker Science Award - Christian Marques
Herb Young Memorial Geography - Jonathan Marques
Gord’s Pro Shop and Imprints Male and Female Athlete - Quinn Fowler and Natalie Brown
Music Award - Lily Van Geel
Extra Curricular Music - Sierra Richardson
Howard Collins Award for academic excellence, a student who is co-operative, contributing to the life and spirit of the school - Lily Van Geel
Ontario Principals' Council Award - Aurora Jacobi
Knights of Columbus - Aleah Snyder
Lion’s Club Citizenship - Gracious Navor
Wildcat Leadership Award - Carly Kuhl and Blain Ribey
Saugeen Shores Fire Fighter’s Assococation - Student’s use of their ability to achieve academic potential - Brenton Wang and Rachel Schuster
Canadian Parents for French Award - Aurora Jacobi
The ÉPESCS French Award - Isha Rana and Emma Nason
CUPE Service Award - Julia Bates
Heart and Soul - to a student who, when faced with a challenge, can find it within themselves to rise above it and conquer it - Gracelyn Sousa
Isobelle Underwood Creativity Through Media - Katerina Perepilkina and Layla Cushnie
Heather Campbell Career of Excellence Award - Jaydn Chin
Bruce Power Science and Technology Bursary - Justin Lachance
Rotary Club of Port Elgin - Service Above Self - Lauren MacDonald
The Dianne Primeau Above and Beyond Award - Isha Rana and Sophia Peevers
Wildcat Math Award - Rabia Azmi
Language Arts - Carly Kuhl
Saugeen Shores Chamber of Commerce History Award - Aleah Snyder
Inspiring Possibilities Award (Community Living) - Aurora Jacobi
Wildcat Award of Merit - Blain Ribey, Natalie Brown, Riley McMillan and Christian Marques


Graduate Caelen MacDonald was awarded the T.A. Brown Award of Academic Excellence by Vice-Principal Suzanne Kennedy.


Aurora Jacobi was presented with the Ontario Principal’s Council Award by Prinicpal Karen Spragg.

music extra curricular

Matthew Patterson presented the Music Award to Lily Van Geel.


The Memorial Heart and Soul Award, presented by Heather Porter, went to Gracelyn Sousa.

geography science

On the left, Jonathan Marques was presented with the Herb Young Memorial Geography Award by Kristy Whyte. On the right, Christian Marques was presented with the J. G. Walker Science Award by presenter Jeff Walker.

gracious rye

On the left, Liz Sollars presented graduate Gracious Navor with the Lion’s Club Citizenship Award. On the right, Sollars presented Joshua Rye with the Michael Humphrey Math Award.

vangeel snyder

On the left, Lily Van Geel was presented with the Howard Collins Award by Nicole Hunter. On the right, Sue Jacobi presented Aleah Snyder with the Knights of Columbus Award.

music bp

On the left, Matthew Patterson presented Sierra Richardson with the Extra-Curricular music award. On the right, John Peevers presented Justin Lachance with the Bruce Power Science and Technology Bursary.

isha peever

Chantel and Andersson Primeau presented Isha Rana (left) and Sophia Peevers (right) with the Dianne Primeau Above and Beyond Award.


Wildcat Award of Merit recipients included, from left, Blaine Ribey, Christian Marques, Riley McMillan and Natalie Brown.


CareyOptical final