HatchAmar Jolly (left), Stuart Reid, Jim Sarvinis, MPP Lisa Thompson, Saugeen Shores Mayor Mike Smith and Bruce MacKay at the ribbon cutting ceremony for Hatch’s new Port Elgin location on Goderich Street, July 7.

Hub Staff

A new office for the engineering management consultancy office, Hatch, has opened in Port Elgin. The office will be staffed by members of Hatch’s nuclear team who are supporting work that is now under way at Bruce Power. Hatch recently completed a nuclear quality assurance audit by the CANDU Procurement Audit Committee (CANPAC), authorizing the company to supply engineering and procurement services to nuclear facilities in Canada.

Saugeen Shores Mayor Mike Smith, MPP for Huron Bruce Lisa Thompson and Community Foundation Grey Bruce Executive Director Stuart Reid were all on hand for a ribbon cutting ceremony, July 7, in front of the new Hatch office that will house 12 staffers.

Hatch’s Global Director of Nuclear Jim Sarvinis said that nuclear energy is one of the company’s big focuses and that Bruce Power’s long term commitment to producing affordable energy is per their new agreement. “We felt that because it’s a long term opportunity we want to put roots down in the community and be part of the Bruce community; and we thought Saugeen Shores was a good place to start,” Sarvinis said, before the ceremony.

Lisa Thompson quipped that she will be looking forward to the “great things that will be hatched", now that Hatch is in Bruce County. “One thing that I strive for is making sure there is so much opportunity for young people to go away to school and come back to, and I think that Hatch has embodied that value,” said Thompson.

Following the ribbon cutting ceremony, Hatch presented the Community Foundation of Grey Bruce with a donation of $2,000 to assist with their scholarship programs. 

chequeHatch Managing Director, Business Practices, Energy, Bruce MacKay (left) and Hatch’s Global Director of Nuclear, Jim Sarvinis (right) presented Stuart Reid of the Community Foundation of Grey Bruce with $2,000 for student scholarship funds.DSCF8245