Hub Staff

Following two years of COVID restrictions, the Port Elgin Curling Club is once again hosting Super Spiel, where 18 teams will vie for a $14,000 purse and a chance to compete in the 2023 Ontario Tankard/Scotties.

This year's competition is the 40th such event, and will be held November 17 to 20 at the Port Elgin Curling Club.

Teams will participate in a Triple Knockout format and include five teams ranked in the top 35 this season in Canada, including the #10 ranked Sam Mooibroek team from Whitby, Ontario and former Canadian and world champion Glen Howard team from Penetang.

Other notable teams include former Superspiel champion Pat Ferris from Grimsby, two time Superspiel champion Dayna Durelle from Harriston, Ben Levy from Detroit, Greg Smith from St. John’s Newfoundland and Hayato Sato from Sapporo, Japan.

Spectators are welcome and admission is free. For teams, draw times and results, visit