Deadline for nomination papers for the Saugeen Shores 2022 municipal election is 2pm on August 19. This year those eligible to vote can do so by internet or telephone.

Voting will take place online from Monday, October 17 at 8:30 a.m. until Monday, October 24, at 8 p.m.

In addition to a mayor, deputy mayor and vice deputy mayor position, two councillor positions for each of the Port Elgin, Southampton, and Saugeen Township wards are up for grabs.

As well one trustee position for the Bluewater District School Board (BWDSB) and the Bruce Grey Catholic District School Board (BGCDSB).

Nomination papers for the Conseil scolaire Viamonde trustee position can be filed with the City of Barrie and papers for the Conseil scolaire catholique Providence trustee position can be filed with the City of Sarnia.

At the time of publishing, the unofficial list of candidates at showed incumbents Luke Charbonneau as running for the mayoral position, Don Matheson running for deputy mayor, and Mike Myatt for vice deputy mayor.

Incumbents Dave Myette (Saugeen Ward), Cheryl Grace (Southampton Ward), John Divinski (Southampton Ward), and C. Dianne Mini Jacques (Port Elgin Ward) have all filed their nomination papers to serve in the next term.

Bud Halpin is running for the Port Elgin Ward.

Katie Lutz is seeking re-election for the BWDSB trustee position. Lucie Desbiens and Jeannette Lee have filed their papers for the trustee position for BGCDSB. Sylvie C. Barbeau-Chmielewski has filed for the Conseil Scolaire Catholique Providence and Eric Lapointe and Saveria Caruso for Conseil scolaire Viamonde trustee.