community graphic

juniors 560Juniors, left to right, Carter Snowbelen, Ripley; Cameron MacKenzie, Mildmay; Chelby Morris, École Port Elgin Saugeen Central School; Maggie Boyes, Amabel-Sauble; Lily Merrifield, Chesley.

The Bruce County Public Speaking Championship was held at St. Joseph’s School in Port Elgin on March 22 with County Warden Mitch Twolan, Bluewater District School Board Trustee Jan Johnstone and Communication Official from Grey Bruce Catholic District School Board Doreen Schultz on hand to judge.

The competition was split into two divisions, Grades 4-6 and Grades 7-8. Although the decision was a difficult one, winners in the Junior category were Chelby Morris first place, Lily Merrifield second place and Cameron MacKenzie third. In the Intermediate category, Kate Leppington took first place, Aubrey Urbshott second and Rishab Roychowdhury third.

Organizers would like to thank St. Joseph’s for hosting the event as well as the judges and Bruce County Council for their continued support.

The winners will present to the Bruce County Council on April 6.

Intermediates 560Intermediates, left to right, Cayley Rennick, Hepworth; Rishab Roychowdhury, Northport Elementary School; Viviane Weiland, Mildmay; Aubrey Urbshott, Arran-Tara; Kate Leppington, Ripley.


Sunshine top